This award is given in memory of Pete Guest who was an inspirational figure in the bat conservation movement for more than 20 years. Each year, the bat world is invited to nominate individuals who have made an outstanding practical contribution to bat conservation.

The criteria for the award include: dedication, innovation, enthusiasm and inspiration in making a difference, both to bats and to people, helping make BCT's vision become a reality.

A total of 10 bat workers (including a joint nomination) were nominated in 2020 and we received over 510 votes. The 2020 winner was Michelle Young of Gloucestershire Bat Group and Evesham Bat Care. Michelle's commitment to bat conservation and her tireless duty to bat care, made her a worthy winner.

2020 Nominees and Voting

Pete Guest Award 2020. Voting has closed for 2020.

Thank you to everyone who provided nominations and/or taken the time to vote.

The Decision Process.

The nominee(s) with the greatest number of votes will be announced at the Bat Workers Forum (BWF) on Tuesday the 22nd September. The award is usually presented at the National Bat Conference, unfortunately, because the National Bat Conference is taking place on-line this year, and before the BWF takes place, we will be making an alternative arrangement to present the award. Details will also be posted on the BCT website, BCT social media and via email communication to bat groups week commencing 28th September.

The list of nominees, the statement(s) of support for this years' nominees can be found if you click here.

If you have any questions about the Pete Guest Award please don’t hesitate to get in touch by emailing Colin Morris.

Next: Previous Winners